From the swing bridge at Chaffey's Lock, one can easily visualize the history of our quiet lockstation. For over a century, steamers passed through the lock gates towing barges loaded with cordwood, cheese and grain. The 1872 stone gristmill was the commercial hub of the surrounding countryside. All summer long, farmers lined up in wagons patiently waiting for their wheat and corn to be ground.
At the Lockmaster's House Museum, we interpret canal life in years gone by. Our downstairs exhibit illustrates the daily work of the men and women who settled the shores of the Rideau Lakes. Our staff will be happy to tell you about earlier times in Chaffey's Lock and area.
Enjoy this lockstation's natural beauty as others have since 1822. Bring a picnic and spend a restful afternoon watching the hand-operated lock in action. Chaffey's Lock is a step back in time.
1724 Chaffey's Lock Road, RR1
Elgin, Ontario K0G 1E0
website maintenance & design donated by Ken W. Watson
©2016 Chaffey's Lock and Area Heritage Society